Sassisailor’s Weblog

A description of my journey to improve my eyesight naturally

Dec 9th Visual acuity tests December 9, 2008

Filed under: Focometer Results,My Daily Progress,Snellen Chart Results — sassisailor @ 1:25 pm

I have taken a bunch of measurements today for the sake of marking my progress.  I just felt like digging out the focometer today. 

Outdoors, 12:45pm, sunny

With focometer (requires testing one eye at a time):

  • Left eye: -5.5 diopter
  • Right eye: -5.75 diopter
  • For reference I started at left -7.25D and right -8D as measured by the eye doctor.  if you click on the category “focometer results” you will be able to compare my progress as measured by me with my focometer since last february

Snellen chart, both eyes, outdoors, sunny

  • I could immediately read 20/50 and within seconds I was able to see 20/40.   After only a minute or so I was able to see 20/20!  My vision has been clearing so much faster!  Now that my vision is improving so much I don’t think to read the chart as muhc because I’m always marvelling at everything around me because the colors and dimensions are so amazing.  I keep the chart out only mainly so I can post here so people can get an idea of my visual acuity (and to document my progress for those interested for scientific purposes, myself included) and because I know it’s a good habit to have for my whole life.  I’m seeing so well I don’t even worry about if I have my glasses with me anymore.  Sometimes I leave the house and completely forget them and I don’t panic when I realize! 

Snellen chart indoors, curtains open, natural light coming through the windows, no other lights on:

  • Immediately seeing 20/100, cleared within seconds to 20/40 and have maintained that since I did my reading (am typing and seeing the text from over a foot away). 

Again, there is a discrepency between how well I’m seeing as measured by my Snellen chart and from the focometer measurements.  But I think the focometer is a more accurate measure of my prescription requirements for driving at night.  This is about the prescription I wear when I drive at night, so it seems to be correlating well.  I had hoped my focometer measurements would show my refractive state had dropped  below -5d, but not yet!  Wishful thinking.  Also, I don’t wait for my vision to clear or anything when I do the focometer.  I just use it as indicated and adjust it until the chart clears up crystal clear and I’m seeing 20/20 with the focometer. 

The great thing is that I’m seeing well enough now, less than a year from when I started, to do pretty much everything without glasses.  I don’t drive that much, especially at night, so I’m almost to the point where I would say I’m free from glasses! 

I’m still playing racquetball weekly without glasses, I just don’t post about it anymore.  But today we played a doubles game (me without glasses) and again, just have so much fun!  My partner actually told me that she thinks I play better without glasses than I did when I wore them.  I don’t even consider wearing them for racquetball and do many other things without glasses too, including cooking, watching TV, some painting, all reading, most computer work, cleaning, laundry, snow shovelling, cleaning up the yard, gettign to school via the bus, walking across campus, running errands for work/school, all conversations with people, eating meals, etc.  As you can see, even though my refractive state as shown by the focometer has dropped only to ~-5.5 D (which is still significant to me, as it PROVES that my myopia can be reversed) I’m able to almost completely function without glasses because my eyes are learning to see without them.  It’s been a wonderful last week and everyday I’m more and more delighted at the new things I can see from distance.

 

3 Responses to “Dec 9th Visual acuity tests”

  1. Otis Says:

    Sassy,
    There is one thing I no longer attempt to “explain”. And that it the difference between your objective Focometer reading (which is valid science) and your objective Snellen. I am just amazed by it all. I had a friend with a -4 diopter perscription (for many years). When he heard my “rant” against the minus lens, he went out, practiced “Bates/Prentice”, and after about two or three months, passed the 20/40 line. I think, now, that the vast population of children is over-prescribed, and that the minus does not “help” anything at all. This is EXACTLY as Dr. Bates described it. I know we will have our “differences” as we both advocate “prevention” — but you have far exceeded anything (conservative me) would have thought possible.

    Sassy> Again, there is a discrepency between how well I’m seeing as measured by my Snellen chart and from the focometer measurements.

    Otis> But those objective measurements are VERY VALUABLE to me on a scientific level.

    Sassy> But I think the focometer is a more accurate measure of my prescription requirements for driving at night.

    Otis> I agree.

    Sassy> This is about the prescription I wear when I drive at night, so it seems to be correlating well. I had hoped my focometer measurements would show my refractive state had dropped below -5d, but not yet!

    Otis> It is a “tough truth” — but any true preventive effort must have the person himself relize this.

    Sassy> Wishful thinking. Also, I don’t wait for my vision to clear or anything when I do the focometer. I just use it as indicated and adjust it until the chart clears up crystal clear and I’m seeing 20/20 with the focometer.

    Otis> But having MEASUREMENT CONTROL, is “everything” to me (and I would hope for other engineers and scientists).

    Best,

    Otis

  2. mark825 Says:

    Wow, you’re doing so well! 🙂 You’ve made significant progress both in your refractive state and your visual acuity. The difference between your Snellen and focometer measurements actually helps me to be optimistic because I know that I won’t need to reduce my prescription down to 0.00 D before I have a good visual acuity.

    I look forward to when I can look at the chart and start off seeing clearly; right now I always start at 10/200.

  3. sassisailor Says:

    Thanks Mark! It’s encouraging for me too because it keeps reminding me of this very fact, that our vision can be “good enough” without our refractive state being at zero.

    You’ll get there 🙂 I started out at 3/200, so I can say for sure that it only gets better from wherever you are now!

    Sassy


Leave a Reply

